TASCAM TSR-8 (mixer)

EDAN

Hello all,

What a GREAT site you have here. Came across it doing a google and have already spent all of last night and much of this morning soaking up all the top notch info you all have to offer.

Time to put the 388 out to pasture (well, pass it on to my brother!). It has served me well and is a fantastic machine. I'm not a pro by any standards and actually got by on instinct alone all these years, I'm a "wing it" (who need manuals!) kinda of guy, but my lack of any solid knowledge regarding recording beyond the basics has left me behind the curve and it's time to take this stuff a little more serious and I'm hoping along the way to learn as much as I can from you folks out here.

Ok for starters, I didn't want to get rid of the 388, but somehow over these past few years I forgot that my brother owned half of it! The fact it's been at my house all this time made me forget, lol. I've gotten more than my fair use of it so off to my brothers it goes. I just bought a TSR-8 in real nice condition, recently serviced and aligned for $350.00. First things first, I need a mixer. I love vintage Tascam analog gear so my heart tells me to find and old Tascam board, however I'm not familiar with models and specs from yesteryear, so I'd like your opinions on this...

Should I go with an old school Tascam (or other brand) board or with all the advances maybe buy something newer, as in, digital? I'm hoping to buy used in the $200-$400 range. Of course I want the most bang for the buck so I thought I ask around out here as you guys really know your stuff.

Thanks much!

EDAN

For that price range, you'd probably not get an 8 buss board. A real fine 4 buss would be the M-308B/ M312B. I have a 308B and its gots tons of functionality, great preamps, and even though its only a 4buss, it has 8 channels of tape return. Go for the M312, or an M320 if you can find one in this price range