tascam 688 - disassembly and (hopefully) repair)

heatmiser

mr. green christmas
This is my attempt to document the disassembly of a tascam 688 midistudio. This is a continuation of a recent thread:

https://homerecording.com/bbs/showthread.php?t=301643

which outlines the issues I was having with pitch/speed. I have a capstan belt on the way from the manufacturer in california and wanted to take it apart both to have a look at the innards and to get prepared for belt replacement.

I used a prior thread from this forum as a guide:

https://homerecording.com/bbs/showthread.php?t=283800&page=2

Post #26 by Ely in particular was invaluable to keep me on track. Keep in mind I have zero experience with this sort of thing, but I have to say, at least with regard to taking it apart...anyone with some patience, an assortment of screwdrivers and an hour or two to spare can do this.

I hope this will be of some help to any fellow 688 owners/fans. :D

First, the work surface. You will need a good deal of room and a variety of screwdrivers. I drew pictures of the pieces the screws came from and taped each screw to the corresponding drawing. Note, the Finding Nemo flashlight is optional ;).

1.jpg

Next, remove the right side panel (two screws - no problem):

2.jpg

Next, remove the front arm rest at the bottom of the unit. Note - all 5 screws should be loosened not removed. 2 of the screws are recessed and if you simply loosen them, the arm rest should slide out. I made the mistake of removing them (highlighted in the photo below) and had to turn the unit upside down to get them out. I think it will be difficult to reattach them...oh well:

3.jpg