Tascam 48 + Tascam 308b + (gulp) patchbays

jessestriff

Hi all,

I posted this on tapeheads.net also, but thought it might have veered off-topic a bit, so hopefully I landed in the right spot here.

I've been working with a 48 and 308b on and off for a little while and always made things work for what I needed to do, but never had an efficient setup or workflow (never really dug in to understand all the possibilities of the 308B either). Promised myself this year I'd change that so I picked up a couple of patchbays: a 48 point and a 40 point, both TRS.

I'm new to patchbays, but I've read up and understand them on a basic level. Figuring out the most effective routing for the aforementioned pieces has been giving me a headache, however.

I don't have a ton of effects or outboard gear, so I had been thinking I would assign that stuff to the 40-point bay and use the 48-point for all the Tascam inputs and outputs (both bays are half-normal, save for the last four points of the 48-point bay, which are Thru).

The 308 has a direct out for each of the 8 channels, but since the channels can be assigned to any of the four PGM groups, is it necessary to patch said direct outs to the bay? Is it smarter to just use the four PGM outs, or do all 12 need to be in play?

If it matters, I'll be working alone and mostly just recording one channel at a time, with the occasional second channel for stereo sources.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Jesse

Welcome, Jesse.

First question I have is why do you feel you need a patchbay?

Is it for the effects?

And why put the tape machine on a patchbay? Do you often need to input sources to the 48 from sources that aren't going through the M-308B? Or do you often send the 48 outputs to inputs other than the M-308B?

If the answer to both of those last points is "no", then what is the reason for the patchbay?