Tascam 38 w/ M-308B mixer advice

cjhermsen

Hi all,

I found a craigslist post for a Tascam 38 8 track 1/2" reel to reel tape recorder w/ 25' remote, Tascam 308B mixer with all bussing cables, (2) Tascam DX40 DBX noise reduction units with rackmount case, cable snake, original manuals, take up reel and he's throwing in a pair of headphones. All items in working condition for $850 total. Seems pretty legit, just wanted to ask around to make sure this is a good deal or not. Also, would it be wise to get it looked at by a professional to insure everything is in tip-top shape?

I'm pretty new to Analog recording and this would be my first set-up. I'm going to use it mainly for my band and try to get the most interesting sound we can with what we got. Wanting to go the tape route, this seems like a really affordable option ;) --Especially since it comes with basically everything we need.

Speaking of everything we need, what would be some good options for a monitoring system? Our guitar player has some really high quality speakers, but would need the power amp for it. (I'll get the make and model of those speakers soon).

Any advice helps, thanks for reading!

Cheers

5K95F35Mc3Ga3K33k3c834bc6c35f3b8719db.jpg

Assuming all the channels do work, you'd probably want to ask for pictures of the heads to make sure they're not too badly worn.

That's probably right at market value - if the 38's in amazing shape. I would try and ask more like $700. :). Generally, the guys around here will tell you to take every precaution before buying a used reel to reel. Like, get new tape (1/2" RMGI SM-911 is the stuff for that machine), clean it up properly with some cotton swabs and 95% or stronger isopropyl alcohol, make sure every channel records and plays back at a proper volume (using a tone generator or something that will produce a 1kHz -10 dBv [I think] tone), etc.