Synchronising two machines

jpmorris

Tape Wolf
The MMC100 unit which I have does not appear to be able to make the TSR-8 chase a MIDI timecode, although it can control the transport at a basic level. This irritates me, although since it cost 2p on ebay, it's not a total disaster.

The MTS1000 is like gold dust, likewise the appallingly expensive ES50.

So. What machines are capable of interfacing with the TSR-8 to lock two together?
Apparently the MicroLynx can do it via the parallel cable. Is this a relatively standard interface? The ML can also talk to the A80, MCI machines and god-knows-what else.. does that mean an 1978 Maglink (War of the Worlds) synchronizer would do the job too? (Although to be honest, I've seen more ES50s on ebay than those...)

Any suggestions?

first of all I'm no expert here and I may be somewhat incorrect, but in general as I understand there's no such thing as tape machine "chasing" midi time code. The way it works (if you want your midi device to act as control-"center" in the system): Your midi device sends MMC 'message' (midi machine control) to a device that can 'convert' MMC to start/stop/rew/ff action. As the tape (that is already has SMPTE code on it) moves, SMPTE code is converted to MTC (midi time code) which is being sent 'back' to midi device, midi device chases it and stays in synch with the tape. So the tape is a synchronizing master, but the midi device controls transport.
ok, where am I going wrong? :o
where is BRDTS when we need one? :D pm him, he's the expert.
so, maybe your unit can do what you want? Also what "Synchronising two machines" has to do with MTC or MMC to begin with? ;) What exactly you situation and what are you trying to accomplish?

/respects

Dr ZEE said: