Sound-on-Sound Decks?

Muckelroy

I was curious -- are there any tape decks (multitrack or not) that employ a sound-on-sound feature, which enables you to turn off the erase head, and record more stuff onto the same track while keeping the old stuff?

A lot of the old 4 track tape machines back in the day had this feature, (George Martin's specialty!)

Any semi-modern decks that have this feature? I know, bouncing tracks is way easier, and a bit more feasible, but I was just curious if this feature existed, in the case that you didn't have an empty track to bounce to. (?)

-callie-

Muckelroy said:
Any semi-modern decks that have this feature? -

the answer is - Nop. Also, I like that: "semi-modern" term... I totaly dig the word ...I'd gladly apply it on 'myself' ... huh! - cool - "I'm a semi-modern artist" - sounds good :D :p :D

even thou "SOS" switch can be found on only some older machines (Akai4000ds, i'm not sure about TEAC a-1200? ...some others???)... but when The Moon rises HIGH ...you can see things clearer.... and so realize that it's not so hard to do/achieve s.o.s. with any r-t-r machine, well, you'll have to apply some mind'n'hands actions on it ... ;)
Also, practically speaking, to adding something 'sos-style' to your previously recorded GREAT takes is pretty BRAVE thing to do ...you gotta be really in the right mood at the right time and also be lucky :D
Here's Sir Les Paul... please, check this interview with LesPaul - good read :)
Also there's "HHTM" recording set-up photo there

Attachments

• lp.gif
    lp.gif
    17.6 KB · Views: 58
HAHA! I like that acronym - S.O.S.

Only that's what you'll be saying if you use that function after not knowing what the crap you just did! :eek:

-callie-

Muckelroy said:
HAHA! I like that acronym - S.O.S.

Only that's what you'll be saying if you use that function after not knowing what the crap you just did! :eek:

-callie-
:D -EXACTLY- :D