So whats going on with those old 4 track recorders prices?

IronWine

hello folks. after some consultation here i decided to go with an old tascam 246. but after checking some prices on ebay - gee! :eek:

the good ones starting at around 500-600 USD. non-operating ones for 100USD and more. and as i have no electronical knowledge, that would be an expensive mission.

what u guys thinkin about these prices? i went thru some posts from aroumd 3-5 years ago and a decent number of people got good units for like 150USD. is it just gonna go up and up?

cheers

Well, it is a finite resource of those machines and currently interest is them is high. Keep checking eBay and your local online sales pub like craig's list for them, be patient and you will get one for a price you can be happy with. A month ago I was walking through a thrift store and sitting there was a Yamaha vesion of a 4 channel porta-studio. Price: $9.95.

Yeah...anything well-kept and without issues is going to fetch a higher price because there's nothing new being made....not for close to 20 years now.

Not looking to pimp it here/now....but I'm planning to sell my Fostex G16 any day now (as soon as I'm done with my studio upgrade project)...and since I have a clean, fully operational unit, with some new spare parts, all the accessories, and a second working parts deck...I plan to ask a high price for it, because there won't be another like it anywhere eBay. :)

Ebay is not the place to go for these kind of things. Check your local classified.\
I got a mint in box 246 with accessories for $100. I bought my 244 from former HR member Ghost of FM for $50 .It did need a repair though. And I got a 424mkII in mint shape for $60.
Heck.... I bought 2 Tascam 388s for less than what a lot of four track cassettes are going for on ebay.
Got those both on local classified. $150 and $500
Keep looking.