Snagged a Tascam 58! Good and bad news...

jeancoltrane

So after slugging it out with my teac 2340 for the past year I finally decided to grab an 8 track off kijiji. Good news, transport seems to be in great shape & the heads look good, all lights & functions work except...

1 channel is stuck in sync mode (knew about this when I bought it) due to the relay, which I've read is pretty common and a simple fix. My repair guy in toronto bought most of the remaining tascam parts (so I've heard) and has the relay in stock.

The bad news - either I didnt notice it when testing at the sellers house, or it happened during the move to my place -
There seems to be a fair amount of noise & hum (sounds like 60/120hz) on all channel outputs, only in repro mode when moving tape. Input mode is dead quiet. The noise also appears on sync mode when playing back the tape. I'm not technically inclined at all, so I will likely get my repair guy to deal with this when he fixes the relay. Just wondering if anyone has encountered this type of issue and if I'm looking at a simple fix or a potentially bigger issue.

The machine also came with a reel of rmg sm900, which it was apparently aligned for. I've read the stock 58s couldnt bias +9 tape without mods, so is it reasonable to assume mods were done to bias sm900 properly, or perhaps no mods were done and it was aligned as close as possible...is there a link or info out there on what the proper mods would be to bias for +9. Also if anyone knew where to grab a manual that would definitely help my process of troubleshooting this beast.

Thanks for any help

Hey there.

I've experienced something like that once on a BR-20. There was a pinched wire. It sounds like there is a shorting/grounding issue in reproduce mode whether the source is the sync or play head, which tells me it's not the heads, because the problem occurs regardless of the source. I would start with getting the relay fixed, and re-seat all the amp cards.