Should I go analog, reel to reel, TEAC 3340?

adrianhouse

Hi everyone,

New to forum. I'm a musician (I have CFS so don't have much energy) who wants to record a demo at home. I'm contemplating bying a TEAC 3340 multitrack deck. I've read most of Craig Anderton's book "Home Recording for Musicians" (before I unfortunately lost it) so I know a little bit. What I'm wondering is, is this going to be a big pain to learn how to use? And what about maintenance, parts, tapes, etc. I know for sure that I like analog way better than digital, but I'm more of a musician and I don't want to lose too much time in messing with a machine, maybe. Maybe it's worth it though? Any thoughts/ experiences you might share would be greatly appreciated. Maybe an easy middle ground would be to get a cassette multitrack instead.
Cheers,
Adrian

Maybe an easy middle ground would be to get a cassette multitrack instead.
Cheers,
Adrian

Welcome to the board! In my humble opinion, a cassette multitrack would be a good first choice. Granted, reel to reel sounds absolutely phenomenal, but the cost of tape, parts, and maintenance (or labor, if you are doing it yourself) are higher.

Just my .02. As usual, I'll step aside and let the pros field this one.:D;)

When you're dealing with good quality analog, you do have to get your hands a bit dirty and dig into the world of understanding what you have, how it works and how to keep it working at peak efficiency.

for the most part, a properly running machine will be pretty easy and very intuitive to operate but you will eventually get caught up in the minutia of it all if you're going to stick with it for any length of time and the more you're willing to learn, the more you'll get out of your efforts. That applies to all aspects of recording too...learning how to Mic things appropriately, learning about levels, signal paths, processing and mixing are all part of the art.