Revox PR99 MK2 stops after releasing play/rev/ff keys

Hi,

I've been using this machine for several years without trouble.
I tried to finish playing a tape yesterday after listening to half of it the day before so the tape is correctly threaded.
It will play without trouble as far as I keep the Play key pressed.
The same problem occurs with the rev/ff keys.

Any ideas what this may be ? Looks like some flip-flop gone wrong, or the stop command locked enabled (maybe the same problem).

Any hints welcome

Thanks,

David

A shorted stop switch does sound like a worthy candidate to take a peak at assuming no sticky shed issues are in play, compounding the issue.

Cheers! :)

The problem was one shorted tantalum on the ader-start board. I replaced both and the problem disappeared.

"tantalum"

Was that a shorted capacitor? I had to Google that word, tantalum, to find out what that was. Wikipedia says its a substitute element for platinum and is primarily used in capacitors for computers and cell phones. Interesting to see Studer using this in a 1980's analog reel to reel!

Glad to read you were able to find the short and get your deck operational again.

Cheers! :)

It was a 3.3µF under 35V and measured 0.5 so it must have turned very leaky if not shorted at the working voltage.
Indeed tantalum capacitors were used quite early. I have seen them used in late 1960s equipment like Band & Olufsen and even the Revox A77.
Some people say they must be replaced, some wouldn't care as far as the machine works.
If they are of superior quality, they cost significantly more than electrolytics.
I think I had to pay over $100 for a full set of A77 capacitors but I could be wrong.

The Tantalum capacitor is INFAMOUS in electronics serviceman circles!