Replacing belts on a Realistic SCT-7

81vee

G'day guys,

I have recently plunged into the world of cassette tape decks with a relic from my great-grandfather: an old Realistic SCT-7 from the mid 70's. Unfortunately, due to age and unuse, it seems that both the drive belt as well as the belt that drives the cassette tape heads (not sure what you would call it) have failed. Completely. I took the rear cover off of it to discover a shriveled up peice of rubber half he length of the replacement belt I have ordered. I want to replace these belts, but I'm not a qualified electrician or any of the sort. Any suggestions for what to remove to access what I need? Thanks!

-81vee

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

I don't know the machine at all (American?) but there are some basic principles.

Have a clean, non slip work surface, a white sheet is good.
Take copious photos AS YOU GO.
Make a note of any screws or circlips of different sizes and where they go.
Get the RIGHT TOOL for circlips and screws
Grease is anathema to tape belts, have ISOPROPA on hand to de-grease belts and drive surface.

Dave.

Thanks for the advice. It is indeed an American model. Reason why I was asking is because none of the original belts were on the machine when I got it. They were completely gone due to age and use. Therefore, I don't know the pattern of the track of the belts, and some of the screws that hold it together seem permanent, like they are glued, and I don't want to strip anything.

Thanks for the advice. It is indeed an American model. Reason why I was asking is because none of the original belts were on the machine when I got it. They were completely gone due to age and use. Therefore, I don't know the pattern of the track of the belts, and some of the screws that hold it together seem permanent, like they are glued, and I don't want to strip anything.