Recommended Mixer

Blackdog.sn said:
Hello,
I've got a Tascam 22-4, and i need a mixer capable of outputting to all 4 tracks. Do you guys have any suggestions for cheap mixer for this. So for i've looked at:

Yamaha 10/2 -----which i don't think i can output 4 tracks, or monitor 4 tracks. (please tell me if i am wrong)

Yamaha 12/4 -----this seems like a safe bet, but its kind of tight squeeze money wise (im a student :( )

Edit: Mackie 1202 VLZ-PRO -----I've also looked at few of these (used), and they seem to have all the functionality.... any good?

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

I think what I would do is go with an 8-channel board, but a very, very good board. Since you are only using 4-tracks, a super good 8-channel mixer is a ton cheaper ($$$) than a big board (16-32 channel). In this pricerange, I would buy the best sounding and quality board out there. Look at A&H, Soundcraft etc. A great used 8-ch board will not cost a fortune, but you will be a ton happier when you start to do things like bounce down tracks. This is one of those times that I would not skimp at all.

Quantagee said:
I think what I would do is go with an 8-channel board, but a very, very good board. Since you are only using 4-tracks, a super good 8-channel mixer is a ton cheaper ($$$) than a big board (16-32 channel). In this pricerange, I would buy the best sounding and quality board out there. Look at A&H, Soundcraft etc. A great used 8-ch board will not cost a fortune, but you will be a ton happier when you start to do things like bounce down tracks. This is one of those times that I would not skimp at all.

I would love to nab a Soundcraft, but they are quite out of my price range. Any thoughts about the Teac 5? (Thanks for the suggestion Doc but the guy only ships to the US :mad: )

Blackdog.sn said: