overdubbing issue with a m216 & a 80-8

chillward

Hey there,

I connected every Output of my Teac 80-8 to the Tape In of the M 216 and the Inputs of the 80-8 to the PGM out of the M 216 as described in the M216 manual. I recorded Track 1 on channel 1 without troubles and it also plays back on the monitor. I push the Track 2 button on the 80-8 and I can hear on the monitor track 1 and the stuff I am playing on track 2 so I hit record. As soon as I go back and try to listen to both tracks, there is only track 1 playing and i have no idea where the heck track 2 went. It's my first time overdubbing on a reel to reel so I know there's some stupid newbie mistake but I tried to read through the manual but now I am clueless. Any help would be appreciated so much!!! I even think about getting a Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16/8/2 because at first I thought i could handle the 4 buss faders but now I think 8 would help my frustration level keeping down...

Thanks!

I can't help with the 80-8 specifically, but have you tried this with a track other than 2? Might be worth recording a test tone on all 8 tracks or something, just to make sure it all plays back. Does the meter for track 2 move, i.e. is it just that you can't hear the playback?

I can't help with the 80-8 specifically, but have you tried this with a track other than 2? Might be worth recording a test tone on all 8 tracks or something, just to make sure it all plays back. Does the meter for track 2 move, i.e. is it just that you can't hear the playback?

yes the meter jumps and all tracks should work. I checked all inputs with a multicore rca - 1/4 cable recording guitar tones recording straight. Yesterday I noticed the headphone inputs is kind of noisey I‘ll try it with the monitor boxes today. I am also pretty sure that the M216 is in a bad condition. Faders work really „slow“ means moving them only does little to volume.