Mixing down from digital to analogue

junk e-mail

Hey I'm kind of new to recording, but I found an old tascam two track reel to reel in my neighbors trash. Anyway i've been recording on my computer for a little while but obviously the sound isn't exactly warm like a vacation in mexico, it's more like a trip to the antarctic. I was wondering if it would make a difference in sound to mixdown from the computer to my mixer to the reel to reel? Do any of you do this, does it produce a warmer sound?

Hey I'm kind of new to recording, but I found an old tascam two track reel to reel in my neighbors trash. Anyway i've been recording on my computer for a little while but obviously the sound isn't exactly warm like a vacation in mexico, it's more like a trip to the antarctic. I was wondering if it would make a difference in sound to mixdown from the computer to my mixer to the reel to reel? Do any of you do this, does it produce a warmer sound?

.......... Yes!

:)

And I waited 4-1/2 years to answer after I saw it because I didn't want to step on anyone's toes by answering first. :)

I just hope it's in time. :cool:

You had nothing else to do and you started digging in 7 years old non-answered posts? :)

Heh, :D there's no such thing as an old post; just posts you haven't seen yet. :)

Seriously... usually I find these when googling for something else and they come up in search results. I noticed no one had answered it yet. :p

Hehehe usually happens to me, but I don't answer if it's over a year old :D
Also I like the fact that he waited those 7 years just to get 3 letters: "yes"
So anyway, going a little back to the topic, should I pass my mixes through my Tascam 414 MKII and then pass then again to digital to get a warmer sound? for some pseudo-mastering. :P