mixdown Digital to analog questions

jay Burd

I record on to a Tascam DP 32 digital portable studio. in the past i usually do all my mixing and mastering in this machine and then take transfer the song from the SD card to my computer and that is the final product. I want to try recording a song on the DP32 then somehow getting individual tracks out to mixing console for mixing and then a stereo out from there through any outboard stereo affects I have to a stereo tape machine. then from there i would want to get my stereo mix on the tape machine back to digital format (which i'm not sure how i would do). I could just still do the mixing in my machine and then stereo out from there through outboard to tape machine if that would work.

Is this possible to do with this machine? Would I go out of the stereo speaker out into outboard gear? I am completely new to any form of digital recording but i really want to get into it... any help or clarification on how this process works would be greatly appreciated!

When I pretend my computer is a DP32, I just use groups out to my mixer - often just L, R, and Center. To me, it depends on what kind of outs you have. My old 8-channel Fostex recorder has out on each channel, etc.. If you just have Stereo out, that will have to do : ) Just get on with it. You might be able to use ADAT channels if the Tascam does ADAT. hmm... Doesn't look like it is loaded with output choices

So if I just go out either my balanced or unbalanced stereo out from my DP32 through any outboard equipment into a 2 track tape machine this should work well? Is there anything in the chain in between the DP32 and the tape machine that would be a necessity? and also... any recommendations for a good mix down tape machine?