Levels Recorded To Tape Hotter Than Input

mjiggidy

Hi! I'm very new to analog recording so I'm sure this is a very beginner question. Thanks in advance for the hand-holding.

I have a TEAC A3440 (1/4" 4 Track machine) using SM911 tape (purchased new, Pyral branded). I'm feeding it four tracks of line-level signal from a Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 that I want to record to tape.

To calibrate levels, first I send out a 1kHz -20dB tone to each of the four tracks, and set the TEAC's on-board meters to 0 VU. This fine, but once I start recording to tape, if I switch the TEAC's monitoring over to "playback" so I'm monitoring off the tape, the same tone is read as something like +5 or 6 VU off the tape for each track. During record, I can toggle between input monitoring and tape monitoring and see the levels from the tone are still being received at 0 VU, but are coming off the tape at that +5 VU.

Of course, I can just start recording first and re-adjust until the tape monitoring levels to say 0VU and it's fine. But this difference in levels still puzzles me.

So here's where I'm dumb. I hear people talk about tape bias, and although I never totally understood what that was, I feel like maybe that has something to do with this? Am I over-biased? Am I way off?

Last edited:
The machine has almost certainly been set up for a differnent tape formulation. My guess is that it was set up for 406 or something.

Different tape formulations have different output levels for a given input. For example - and these are purely made-up numbers - Quantegy 406 might take 15v to record a signal and when you play it back, you get 1v coming into the head. If you were to record on ATR tape, which is higher output, 15v in might return 3v in playback so if the machine was calibrated to read 0VU for 1v, it'll read a far higher level on playback. Again, these are totally fake numbers... it's probably microvolts on playback.