Just got a TASCAM 388! Weird Tape Noise - Please Help!

Chris8301

Hi Everybody,

This is my first time posting on the forum... I recently got my hands on a Tascam 388 and wanted to give a try recording solely with my ears (get away from tracking with my eyes) for a bit!

I have a couple basic 'tape questions' I was hoping I could pose to all you experts out there...

Firstly, I recently took some mixes I did in Logic and tried to do a stereo tape dump into the Tascam, and back into my DAW to try and warm up the mixes... When I listened back to what was captured on the tape, I heard a distinct weird wobble type sound (I'm going to attach a small sound clip example) of what could probably be a million things, I was hoping you pros might know right off the bat.

View attachment Weird Tape Sound.mp3

Bonus Questions I've been wondering:
1. Should I even bother erasing and recording over used tape?
2. How many times is TOO many times trying to record over a botched take?
3. Will repeated attempts at overdubbing lessen the fidelity or wear out the tape?

Not hearing any obvious wobble - that usually refers to the pitch varying. If it's happening I don't know the recorded material well enough to know. Recording a sinewave is better for that kind of thing.

What I can hear sounds like dropout, i.e. the signal fades out occasionally. Edge tracks (1 and 8) are more prone to that happening, but it can be caused by other things as well, including dirt on the heads and bad tape, or the tape wandering up and down on a narrowtrack machine like this.

What kind of tape did you use?

With the bonus questions:
1. Is it your own tape? If it's random stuff off ebay that's very much a minefield.
2. I can end up doing a dozen or more attempts, depending on what it is and how badly I'm doing at it.