Inexpensive VU Meter Lamps, Bulbs

I have a Tascam 44OB. The VU meters work but I need VU meter lamps. The original lamps are of a type that "snap" into place within metal contacts, much like a fuse, and have a frosted coating. Some Teac info I found on-line describes them as a socket mount VU meter lamp P/N 53100052-00 8V (55ma?). However, it appears that style lamp is no longer available. From this thread I found 'fuse lamps' at parts-express (search text = "fuse lamp") but one of the posts suggests they do not fit, i.e. the metal end cap is too large. Wondering if anyone can point me to some replacement lamps? Thanks in advance...Dave

Resurrecting this old thread because I need to change a burnt bulb in my 246 and I've never done it before. I clicked on the link to the site but it brings me to the homepage, so I'm thinking that they no longer stock that particular bulb?

Anyways, I looked online to see if I could find some info on what I need and I think I have an idea of what it is but was wondering if anyone here could give me some info on either the exact bulb I need and where to order, or some tips on getting the job done. Like I said, I've never done it before but I do have experience changing the light bulbs in countless lamps in living rooms and bathrooms all over the Northeast.

@ GCalo Sent you a PM.

@ Sweetbeats I assume you have some experience on putting these in. Wanna throw some knowledge my way? I read they need to be soldered in and I have a solder kit and some experience with it. Is it pretty self explanatory or what?

@ Sweetbeats I assume you have some experience on putting these in. Wanna throw some knowledge my way? I read they need to be soldered in and I have a solder kit and some experience with it. Is it pretty self explanatory or what?

I don't know for certain the 246 meters are identical to the similar appearing meters on the models 234, 388, 48 and 58 meters I've worked on, but I'd say they are more than likely the same.