Help! Why won't my faders work?

midnight-to-six

So I scored an old TSR-8 from work, and a Tascam M-1516 board. I finally got around to messing with the setup, and for whatever reason, the faders on the board have absolutely no effect on the individual track volume when playing back tape. The machine came with a number of Q456 reels that have stuff recorded on them. The EQ portion of the board works, and I can record onto the tapes, but I have no control over the playback volume of the individual tracks. If anyone had any advice or suggestions as to what might be the problem, I'd really appreciate your input. Thanks in advance!

Also check your monitor assign buttons. I made this mistake yesterday during a mix. :rolleyes:

On the M1516, the first 8 tracks each have a tape in RCA jack--that's where the signal from the machine is going. I can hear all of the tracks with the pre-fade on, but not with it disengaged.

If it isn't already painfully obvious, I'm pretty new to this--all I've ever had to record on is an 4-track cassette machine. COuld the fact that I'm only listening through headphones have anything to do with my problem? I haven't splurged for monitors yet because I wanted to make sure the machine worked first.

I should note, too, that the faders work, in that I can see the levels change on the output display when I mess with them. I just can't *hear* anything change.

Thanks again for your help!