Help! Tascam tsr-8 or teac 80-8

Elepearl

Hi everyone, I'm a long time lurk, first time poster. Previously, all my questions had been settled by other forum users asking questions but now I have one to solve that requires some experienced minds. I've been in the market for a tape deck for some time and I'm in contact with a fellow that restores them. He has two basically ready to go- a Tascam tsr-8 and a teac 80-8. I'm wondering what all your opinions would be on the matter? If they are both in good shape, running smoothly, which would you choose? I'm in need of something sturdy and reliable. The Tascam has a new motor and is running very smoothly with good heads, etc. The teac is also in great shape and had the added bonus of 3 heads so that I can monitor and also comes with a flight case. The Tascam is $800 and the teac $1000. Lay your wisdom on me!

-Ele

I've been very happy with my TSR-8, though I have no experience with the Teac so I can't say how they compare. Are the machines local so that you can see them in person and test them out?

They aren't local, but I'm driving out to check them out myself. I figure it's worth the drive as I plan to use the deck extensively. I've heard really good things about the tsr-8, especially for a newbie like me, but there is a lot of interesting stuff with the teac (Dbx unit, monitoring capability, flight case, etc.).

TSR-8 has built in noise reduction, advanced transport logic and mechanics (more gentle and precise tape handling, and features a basic onboard auto-locator), is easier to work on, would be much newer and likely to be more reliable on that alone on top of a more reliable design, and parts are likely to be more readily available...as well as better user community support because there are more in operation. Oh, and it's smaller and lighter.

Add the cost of noise reduction to the 80-8...

If you are wanting something reliable and easier to maintain I'd put my (less) money down on the TSR-8.