Help with a Tascam 312B please

GlowPlug

Well, I finally scored a nice minty Tascam M312B!!!! Its in great shape, and comes with the infamous phantom power! I'm totally siked~ I think that it will go nicely with the TSR-8 that I am hopefully getting soon.

But unfortunately I don't know how the darn thing works!!!! :eek: I have always wanted a nice heavy duty analog mixer. I'm new to all this analog stuff, and I'm totally clueless on how to get sound out of this thing. I have ordered the manual but, it wont be here for a week or two, and I would like to check out and see if any of the pots are scratchy, and if all the XLR inputs and VU meters are working.

Duh, I feel like a 'Kentucky Fried idiot', but when I turn it on, and plug a mic into the XLR inputs I cant get any sound through the headphones. :confused:

Can someone kinda give me a short checklist on what buttons and knobs need to be pressed to get this thing going, and maybe how to check out some of the inputs to see if they are working?

Sorry for such a brain dead question. I promise once I get the hang of this things, I will come up with much better questions . Many thanks

Plug Mic into rear channel input.

Ensure rear panel phantom power slide switch, assigning two channels at a time, is on or off depending on microphone's requirement.

On top panel for the Mic's channel, ensure that the Line Button is off in the up position of the push button.

Turn the Mic's trim control to the mid position to ensure modest electrical gain at this first pre stage.

Down close to the channel's 100 mm linear fader, ensure the fader is up to the hash mark area of it's slide range, (7 - 8) and turn the channel on be pressing in on the "ON" button.

In that same vicinity, depress the orange stereo buss button so that the channel's signal feeds the stereo buss.

Slide the master L & R faders to the same hash mark area.