Does analog move more air. . . ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AtoDeficient

I'm wondering if there has ever been a scientific study on whether analog recordings actually, literally move more air than a digital recording . . . That is, push a wider range of sound waves out of your speakers. . .(This isn't another A vs.D debate, I'm looking for facts here, and we all know analog sounds) better, but does the science and math prove that it sounds better? . . .

When older albums were "remastered for CD" did they dither-down, or eq out the "fullness of sound"? . .

I'm not a sound engineer. . I'm actually an un-sound engineer:facepalm:. . . Does digital record "thinner"? . .. Does tape "add" a fullness?

Why am I asking ? . . . Because my vinyl and tapes sound so much better than any CD I own, and my speakers, any of them, and I have alot of them (it's an obsession) seem to actually move more air when playing back in an analog format, than a CD. . .

Am I making any sense? . . . Any sense ay all? . . . Anybody? . .

If this was covered in another thread, I apologize. .. I wouldn't know how to search for it. .

I'm not sure what you're asking. Digital can pretty much sound exactly like analog. Is it that you like the characteristics of vinyl? The crackles and the needle going around in a groove?

There is really no such thing as an "infinite resolution state"; the original analog signal, long before it hits any recording medium is limited in bandwidth and dynamic range, primarily by noise but also amplifier gain and bandwidth, not to mention transducer limitations. The recording media then impose their own limitations of bandwidth, distortion, and noise on top of that, although the careful engineer will condition the signal to minimize practical limitations.