Counter Burnout on Tascam 246

I turned my 246 on last night and while I was setting up the mic level for the first track I noticed that the LED tape counter isn't on. I didn't notice if it was lit up when I turned the machine on, but it's definitely not working. I turned the machine on and off a couple times and pressed the reset and TRT buttons corresponding to the counter but other than stupid things like that I'm confused here.

I took the face off and looked at the counter up close and I don't see anything except a slight black spot on the right corner of the glass, but I remember noticing that every time I've ever taken the face off before so I'm not thinking it burned out but maybe? I've never heard of that happening ever so...

I will post a pic if that will help but I was wondering if anyone has encountered this happening to a 246 or a 244, and what I should do. I have a parts machine with a working counter so I can attempt a swap but I've never done a job like that before and am a bit apprehensive.

Any advice would be appreciated.

It's always something eh?

Looks like that's a vacuum-fluorescent display. They usually have a black spot. If it's become white, that means that the vacuum has failed. I'm not honestly sure what the failure mode is for these things - it might be the display itself or it might be the support circuitry. AFAIK they don't have a heater like a normal valve, but they do have thin wires e.g. for the control grid which can burn up if overvolted.

This is a random shot in the dark, I'm at work and don't have time to watch videos:

YouTube

Thanks jp, I'll check out the video. Of all the things to fail on this thing, the counter was the last thing I expected. I've seen machines that have sat for 20 years in a dusty basement fire up with nothing but the counter lighting up, so I'm wondering if it's a loose or fried wire?