Cassette v. 1/4" v. 1/2" (life beyond the DAW)

i've been recording for a few months on a tascam 688 now, and i just love it! If you want to keep it low-budget and use those cassette tapes you bought, go for a 688. It's a great machine...

Thanks again for all the great info guys... this thread has continued to evolve in very cool way.

As far as 1/4" tape goes, what brands/types do you guys prefer? Is there a particular kind that offers good quality for an affordable price?

Is there a good place to buy it online?

Also, I've been looking at cleaning/demagnetizing supplies, and I found this kit by S&R Audio on eBay.

Has anyone used the products in this kit?

Last edited:
GemSmith said:
Thanks again for all the great info guys... this thread has continued to evolve in very cool way.

As far as 1/4" tape goes, what brands/types do you guys prefer? Is there a particular kind that offers good quality for an affordable price?

Is there a good place to buy it online?

Also, I've been looking at cleaning/demagnetizing supplies, and I found this kit by S&R Audio on eBay.

Has anyone used the products in this kit?

that will work for your casette deck. but it isn't going to work very well on a deck with 1/4" heads or bigger. you gotta find the han-d-mag. try www.usrecordingmedia.com .

as far as tape goes, that depends on your deck. I think the 388 runs on 406 but I am not 100% sure of that. Anything larger go with 456.

Thanks for the tip... I just ordered the one you suggested, as well as the head cleaning and roller cleaning fluids, and 1000 swabs from USRM...

If I've learned anything about analog from my experience with vinyl playback, it's that GOOD cleaning products, anti-static, etc. make a HUGE difference!

I think this supply of cleaning stuff ought to last me at least a few years!

GemSmith said:
Thanks for the tip... I just ordered the one you suggested, as well as the head cleaning and roller cleaning fluids, and 1000 swabs from USRM...