Can You Mic External MIDI Instruments Like You Can Audio Instruments When Recording?

Mike Freze

I'm fairly new at recording audio and midi tracks together. I am using my personal computer software program (Cubase LE). It's hard getting the MIDI tracks to sound right if I record more than one of them at a time. I have no problems with multiple audio tracks.

Question: Can you mic an external midi instrument (I have a Yamaha PSR-290)? I mean place a good condenser mic in front of the speakers that play the midi sounds. Will it save the recording as an audio track (file) in my program just like you can mic and save a guitar amp, bass amp, etc.? Or will it still only record the sound as a midi sequence? Will micing a midi instrument (keyboard or a drum machine) make the recording sound richer and fuller like a real audio instrument? I notice straight midi sounds seem stale and artificial.

Mike Freze

A microphone will always record to an audio track...mics cannot transmit MIDI data. That's a digital signal and goes through the MIDI cable, so yes, you certainly can record MIDI instruments to an audio track. If you want you can even use an audio out jack from a MIDI instrument if it has one rather than using the mic, but using the mic will give you more options in terms of how the MIDI instrument sounds in the room and such.

Hope that helps.

This is what I would do.

Record your MIDI instrument or if you're using something stand alone like a drum machine or something that will record the whole performance do that. Then run the sounds through high quality speakers like your studio moniters and record that. I've done that with drum machines and it sounded good to me.

Nate: Do You Mean To Record With A Mic Near the Speakers Of The Midi Instrument?

Thanks, Nate! Wasn't sure if you meant to use a mic to record with. I guess this would make it an "audio file" (track) even though it is a midi instrument.

Mike Freze

Thanks, Sweetbeats! Just A Few More Questions