Bought a Portastudio 424 but need advice

vexunes

Hi!

I recently bought a Tascam Portastudio 424 because it was pretty cheap and wanted to start doing some analog recording. I don't really have a clue on what equipment I need. The plan is to record some acoustic and electric guitar and also keyboard.

I already started to read on the guides presented in the Newbies section.

Just wanted to ask if you have any hints, ideas, guides or articles on how I start quickly recording with my Portastudio 424 and what equipment do I actually need? I am a total newb but would really like to start playing around with home recording, but don't know where to start regarding analog stuff.

Cheers and thanks for any help

There's tons of info out there about portastudio use and how to take care of em, so read up and make some music!

I'll give you a couple tips for what I think you might want to do to start recording w/ guitar and keyboard (and vocals?).

The 424 only has 1/4" inputs, which will work for recording your keyboard, but for mics yr going to need a Hi-Z XLR > 1/4" adapter. Speaking of mics, the most obvious choice would be the Shure SM57. It's a dynamic mic, and will work great for loud electric guitar, vocals, and acoustics.

As you learn to record you may want to buy some outboard gear, like reverb, compressor, etc. That's in the future though and for now you just want to get a mic and start putting some noise on tape.

Make sure you take care of yr machine. These are 20+ years old equiptment and they need to be treated good. Buy some 91% isopropal alcohol and clean the recording and erase heads with a q-tip after every use. Use only Type II Chrome tapes. This is really important. Try to use tapes that are 90 min and under. The longer tapes are thin and will stretch, tear, and get eaten. The thicker tapes (30, 60, 90 min) not only sound better, but last longer.