388 very quiet during stereo playback

QUOTE=rob388;4424174]No offence taken.

I've got a bit carried away ��

I'll put her back together today.

Just to clarify, the signal generator I used years ago was box like machine that could generate square waves, saw tooth waves, sine waves and some others, we passed these signals through electronic circuits and measured how these waves were affected with a cathode ray oscilloscope.

I carefully read the 'another 388 problem' thread last night and from what I made out the tone generator was an app from a phone that could generate tones of different frequencies, is this correct?

I hope this is correct as I don't have a signal generator or oscilloscope, these were used on an electronics course I took many years ago. I've forgotten about 95 percent of what I learned so it would be fair to say that you guys are dealing with a complete novice, albeit a willing one!

I'll get everything back together today and report back.

How can I upload photos?

RFR I know what you mean!

Many thanks guys.[/QUOTE]

For the 1 kHz wave, I went to this site:
Custom Sine Tones | Audio Test File Generator

You can generate whatever you want and then download it to your computer. I think the longest it will let you generate is 10 seconds. So I did that, opened it up in Reaper (but you could use any DAW or wav editor), and set it on repeat.

Thanks famous beagle, i've just downloaded an app that plays tones from 10hz right up to 30khz, i think this should be ok to use for testing.

Ok it's all back together.

I've connected via the line inputs an audio source from my phone and here's what i'm getting.

Powered speakers connected to the monitor outs and my headphones connected to the headphone socket on the front of the desk.

The red trim knobs and fader are set to a nominal level.

With the white aux button latched(on) at the far right of the unit i'm getting good audio through both the headphone and monitors.