16 track reel to reels..

I have a friend who has an Ampex 24 track 2" that is not
running and he offered it to me for 1000.00. I dont know
if that is a good price? He is in New Rochelle NY; if anyone
is interested contact my email I hardly ever read in analog.
I think it is my first time. I read that analog was dead in
another forum and I wanted to come see. I find it is not so. It was once said that tubes were dead but I still feel their warmth today.

2" analog unit

Dragonworks

I'm very interested in a 2" unit.
Lets talk some more. What state
is this unit in ? I'm in Carolina.

Chuck

analog info formats

There was a model between the 85-16 and the ATR60/16. This model that uses 90% + parts of the ATR60/16 was the MS16.
There were various speed of this machine but it sounds great. With the ATR the last of the open reels tascam manufactured the parts are still supported. These parts are including heads, caps, rollers etc. The MS16 ran at 15 IPS and had DBX but you could by the unit without the DBX and use "single ended noise reduction" This worked great. There was also a unit that ran at 30IPS (tape eater)but no noise reduction required.
I see the MS16 units (just the base unit) no DBX, Locater etc on sale for around 1500.00. The "full" unit goes for about 2500.00 to 3500.00 depending on heads and if lapped. This is a pro format 1 in 16 track with calb. cards, balanced in/out, has sync and is a work monster. The lapping for the heads (when the time comes)cost 300.00
and you get 50% of head wear again then lap again 25% so the heads with a calb tape can last along time. I have owned 2 of these machines and they sound great. I would recommend these to anyone. THe tape cost is 70.00 for about 32 min (ampex 499 is nice - low noise floor)at 15 IPS

MS16 TASCAM

Hi Paulie,

I like analog too. My first album was digital
and the experience drove me to the analog world.
I think the essence of an acoustic guitar can
only stand up boldly and warmly in the analog