Sony WM-D6C and Mic Issue

tobeythorn

Hi,
I'm new to recording and trying to figure things out for a film project for which I will need to record audio for dialog between two actors using lavaliere mics, but am stuck on a few points. Your help is greatly appreciated because I haven't been able to find the answers by experiment or online searches.

I have a Sony WM-D6C tape recorder that I recently bought on eBay, and a new TDK MA90 tape fresh out of the original seal for recording. I also used 90% rubbing alcohol and a cotton swab to wipe off the head and roller, just to make sure they are clean. On the recorder, the tape type selector is set to metal, noise reduction is set to off, and the recording level dial is set in the middle, as is the headphone output level slider. FYI, to test playback, I also found a NIN album on cassette at Goodwill, which plays back great through the WM-D6C, albeit, there is a bit of noise, but that might just be the degradation of the tape.

When I try to recording using a cheap unpowered lavaliere mic from RadioShack plugged into the mic input:
-If attenuation is set to 0.0db, I get nothing but a loud pulsing sound like "thud thud thud thud thud..."
-Switching to 20.0db on the attenuation, and I get decent sound, but the level's seem too low unless the mic is right in front of my mouth. I've used this mic for Skype on my computer and I don't need to hold it so close then.
-There seems to be a lot of noise. A kind of steady fuzzy "eeeeeeeeee" sound.

I just bought some eletret condenser lavaliere mics for my film project(Pearstone OLM-10 purchased from B&H).
Unlike the lavaliere from RadioShack, they are powered by a button battery. When I plug one of those into the mic input and record:
-The signal is VERY weak, even when I turn the recording level dial all the way up and I have to speak loudly right into the mic. And yes, the power switch on the mic is in the on position and the batteries are fresh.