Audio Technica AT-RMX64 4-track acting up

Hey! I (very excitedly) just got an AT RMX64 off of ebay in very good cosmetic shape for very little money. I just got it today and popped a tape in, and the motor has some trouble turning the tape. No weird noises or anything, it just seems... sticky, like maybe something needs to be cleaned. If i press any transport button, it seems to start turning, but the reel(?) on the right doesn't really want to turn, or slows down and gets "sticky" very quickly, then stops automatically. if I hold in on the play button, it spins for a bit (counts up to 10ish) and then gets sticky and stops.

I'm really guessing I just need to lubricate something inside. How do I get there? I bought this machine because I heard they are very easy to service. I'm not an electrical engineer by any means, but I can get around OK with a screw driver and soldering iron. Help me get started!

After reading some other threads and looking a little harder, I realized that it's extremely easy to take the metal face plate off of either half of this machine. I opted to open up the transport half! Duh.

IMG_3717.jpg

So here's what she looks like under the hood... Incredibly sturdy, hardly any plastic. I'm underwhelmed with the way the transport controls flex the circuit board that they're mounted on, but that's an issue I'll think about later. Right now, we need the motor to turn the way its supposed to. I'm no cassette tech, but I'd like to be!

I figured taking out the screws I labeled 1-4 in the previous picture would maybe give me access to where I needed to be, but I didn't do it because of the way the tape door feeds through it... I figured I wouldn't actually be able to remove it.

IMG_3716.jpg

Thoughts? Maybe it's time to take off one of the wood sidepanels...?