The Guitar Tone and Mix Thread

That's sounds good 3M. Very old school crunch, reminds me of the Rocky Horror soundtrack. So you have the full power Mark V? I'm pretty new to Boogies, never having played one until I bought the Mark 5:25 in October. It's definitely a darker tone that what I was used to. They seem to be really midrangy, a bit nasally even. The trick to dialing them in seems to be to counteract that tendency without scooping too much.

I am not finding much use for the crunch mode of channel 1 so far. Mine just has too much gain no matter what I do. I've been using the fat mode for single coils, clean mode for humbuckers. The latter combination have given me the best crunch tones I've seen from this amp so far.

Listening back today, that clip is a little too raw for what I'm going for. I'll put up another one more in line with what I want.

Yeah I have the full Mark V. But the combo - not the stack.

I also find that overall it has just too much gain. I find it difficult to use the Mark II and Mark IV channels - everything comes out a mush of gain. I like the Crunch channel though.

Nice thread, fellas.
Going to keep it on-track for a while to help get it off the ground!

The forum has user-tagging now if that's useful to you. Typing @Steenamaroo gives that user a 'mentioned' notification.

Keep rockin'...or acousticin'......or whatever!

Here is the same guitar part as yesterday, done Marshall crunch-style.

MesaCrunch.wav - Google Drive

The details... Les Paul, bridge pickup.
-- Volume - 8
-- Tone - 10

Marshall DSL40C, green crunch.
-- Gain - 4
-- Volume - 5
-- Treble - 7
-- Mid - 5
-- Bass - 7
-- Presence - 5
-- Resonance - 0

SM57, pointed straight, on grill, at the edge of the dustcap.

I'm going to re-do that Mesa clip from yesterday.

For some reason, reminds me again of the Rocky Horror soundtrack. It's just got that old school garage vibe. Depending on the mix, I might want to boost the mids and the master volume.