Universal 6176 into a Tascam DM3200...

killertwin

I'm new to digital mixing desks but have one on the way in the form of the Tascam DM3200.

I'll be using it with the firewire add on card option which will enable me to run it as a 24 channel audio interface into my laptop running Cubase SX 3 as well as giving me all the useful features that a hardware mixer can!

I wanna continue to use my Universal Audio 6176 as my frontend when tracking vox, bass & guitars etc.

My question is - what would be the best way to hook up the 6176 to the DM3200?

Would I just do what might be the obvious thing & run the line out of the 6176 into one of the 16 line in's on the DM3200?

Given that I can run the 6176 in either split or join modes, I'm thinking it might be more useful to run it in split mode & do the above while running the 6176's compressor I/O to the DM3200's insert bus?

???

Please forgive my complete ignorance - I'm kinda new school I guess & have mostly done all my previous mixing inside a DAW... any help or suggestions here would be much appreciated!

Cheers & all the best to everyone! :)

K

Well, idealy I would want to go staight to the recorder out of the pre without having to go through any other devices besides converters. If you use the line in,( or an aux assignable returns) see if you can go straight to the firewire out without having to use any gain stages on the board (or at least mininal). They say the expantion card turns it into an interface so there might be a way to do that.
As far as using the comp, I like to send the signal out through an aux send and return it into a line in on a channel. You have a little more flexability plus eq , and the un compressed singal if you need it . But thats just me.
It looks like a cool board though. I still feel more at home mixing on a console than with a mouse.