Thinking of upgradng to a rack mount set up. Help?

ATWCE

Hey guys so its been a while! Im thinking its about time to upgrade and would love some help on what i should go for.

At the moment, i'm running through a pod ux1 which ive had for years straight into my new 27" mac with logic pro x and as you can imagine, im not quite getting the tones i want. I mean, they are ok, but i want more.

I was thinking of going down the axe fx route but it just seems so expensive for what it is! But recently i've been looking at the line 6 pod hd pro x and for the money it seems like a great option. What do you guys think of it?

Im a complete newbie and am literally learning as i go along so basically i need to know if i need anything else in order to run it, or is it possible to just plug it straight into the mac and record from there?

Any tips would be amazing so thank you in advance.

Simon

Im now thinking of adding the focusrite scarlett 2i2 aswell, will i need to connect them through xlr or can i use 1/4" jack leads? I think this seems like a decent set up but id love to hear what people think or if you have any alternatives for home guitar recording with the occasional vocal recording?

With recording you can't feel as much as you can live. The Line 6 Pro or the Axe Fx both will work, as long as you know how to play guitar. Put it in a rack, if you don't like the tuner on it, put a rack tuner in the rack, then you need a midi controller so you can control it, put one of those on the floor. May find more and more as you go that put in the rack. But you don't want it all in there at once or you won't understand what's doing or might risk, just throwing a rack together, for the lust of the rack.