T Racks - Analog modeling Mastering Software

If you are budget minded, it works okay.

If you are really looking to get have intricate control while mastering, might I recommend Wavelab 3.0 with either the Waves or Steiberg Mastering Edition plug in bundles.

Ed

I agree as well. T-Racks is great for $300, but I think paying the extra money for Wavelab and the Waves plugins is worth it if you can. If not, then T-Racks is no slouch by any means, and probably your best bet in that price range.

Hey sonusman, do you have a preference between the Waves plugins and Steinberg Mastering plugins? I've never used the Steinberg ones before, and don't even know what the price range is. I'd like to get that Waves Gold Native bundle, but man, I don't have $1200 to spend on plugins. That's almost another guitar. :cool:

Hey Sonus... does WaveLab 3.0 require a dongle? It looks like I'll have to put SF to rest soon, and WaveLab looks like the best option out there right now. But I HATE dongles. I sit at home pouting, reading all the rave reviews of the Waves plug-ins.

(BTW, I spent 20 minutes reading stuff on the Steinberg site, and couldn't find anything besides feature bullets and the usual system specs)

[This message has been edited by pglewis (edited 06-05-2000).]

I've been using it for 6 months now. It's pretty cool but you can mangle stuff with it too. You can't use the pre sets (mangle mode) but once you learn how to tweek it it's ok. My trick is to get it where you think it sounds good and then back it off a few ticks.

pglewis - no dongle for Wavelab. Check out http://www.mp3proclub.com/main.htm if you are on the scroupleless side of things... :)

JonX - It really depends on the material I am working on. If I am not getting the kind of compression I want from the L1, I try the Loudness Maximizer from Steinberg. LM is more of a Peak Limiter type of thing, and doesn't give any cool pumping. But, if you want a tad of pumping effect, the L1 can get that much easier.