something to do the "balancing" operation and output unbalanced signal

gloves

Yo! I'm a programmer but I need to figure out some audio stuff for work, any advice would be amazing! I don't like asking things unless I've done my fair share of work too, so here goes:

I'm replacing a lecture-recording box (this one - link to wiring documentation) with a different lecture recording box (this one). The old box accepts a 5-bare-wire balanced input (ground, and then 2 wires for left-channel and 2 wires for right-channel). The new box only accepts a simple stereo 3.5mm jack input.

I just read an article about how balanced wires work and it seems really cool and clever. My question is: can I buy a small box that will accept balanced bare-wire inputs (that are probably running a hundred feet or something), do the balancing-magic, and output an unbalanced 3.5mm signal (that will only travel a few inches, so it shouldn't pick up too much noise along the way) ?

I could just tape-over the inverted signals and be left with 3 wires, and then use one of these 3-wire to 3.5mm thingies, but then I get all the noise from the 100-foot wire, and I want to do this right for my customer.

Any suggestions would be amazing, thanks again! <3

Thinking about this a little more, I could probably buy an audio interface that accepts 2 balanced inputs, and buy some bare-wire-to-LXR adapters, and then take the mixed line-output of that. Is that the best option?

interface.PNG

Hi,
There are devices out there that will let you run a balanced signal over distance, properly terminate it, and feed unbalanced to something at the other end.
Something like this, I think, would do that job. I'm sure there are others.

In a situation with bare wires, yes, the adapter you showed would work fine.
T-R-S are UB left, UB right and ground respectively.

The box I linked has RCA out so you'd just use a twin RCA to 3.5mm pre-made cable. They're common and cheap.

Your second post came in as I was typing.