S/Pdif to lightpipe digital patchbay?

skippy said:
Synchronizers are a most amusing problem in hardware design in any case.
I know, I design gigabit ethernet routers for a living (or parts of them anyway). :cool: And I keep a constant vigilance desperately trying to stay away from any asycronous logic. :)

skippy said:
..it only takes one asynchronous item to break the simple solution- which is why any commercially viable product has to do it the hard (and general!) way.
Hm, maybe. But I'm not sure. One asycronous device I can deal with, and I don't think the times when you have more than one are that common. Synths may be a problem, but I wouldn't know 'cause I'm not into that kind of thing. I would rather feel comfortable knowing that my patchbay isn't doing a lot of half-assed sample rate conversion, but is only sending out what it gets in.
Then on the other hand the Crystal CS8420 is supposed to be quite good, and is probably only about $15 in quantity. (It's $40 a pop at my local chip-pimp.)

Hey, another nerd! Pleased to meet you... I've been involved in silicon design for the last 20 years or so, although these days I'm doing more ASICs and fewer full-scale custom processor designs than in years past.

Times change. Luckily, there's still a need for polygon-pushers. Keeps the lights on!

Trying to explain synchronization failure in the context of music is a very strange sensation. But most folks never get the opportunity to find out _why_ some of these nerdy things go wrong, so I like to think that threads like this serve a bit of a purpose.

Coolness! I have only been working full time in electronics for three years. I started out as a physicist drawing rectangles, but as processes and IPs have gotten better we do less and less by hand and more and more by synthesis, so I've gradually become a Verilog hacker! Heed my advice and stay clear of that sorry-excuse-for-a-language! :)
(By the way, my ASICs bigger than yours! ;))