Rack Effects or Computer Effects

Denarius

Hi there,

Just a general question following an abortive Google search.

I've got a Phonic Helix Board 18 on the way that I'm going to be using with Garage Band with as it seems to be able to do an awful lot.

I was just wondering why, with so many effects available on a computer, rack mount effects are still widely popular?

I should probably add that I'm a total noob before someone else does. :rolleyes:

I have alot of stuff that is modeled in some forms of software...sometimes Im tempted to sell some of that stuff, and just get some software...but I havent so far.

Since you're new to it all, I'd go software and save a lot of money. Used by someone with untrained ears, it's just as good. Someday you may be able to hear its limitations, and that's the day you need to start shopping for an LA2A (start saving now, though:().

The other side of that, though, is that the outboard stuff will hold its value much better, in case you want to keep 'trading up' over the years.

There is only a difference when comparing digital units to analog units. A digital rack unit uses software algorithms just like plugins do.

Its better to have the rack versions of things most of the time.

I used to believe that, not anymore. Really good hardware might be better, but not til you're at the top of the price ranges. ALL my plugins are better than ALL my hardware. Hardware wins the 'cpu cycles used' category.

Plugins can also do things that hardware can't, ie a compressor can read ahead and know what's coming up before it gets the sound, so it could have instant attack, or even negative attack time.