Question in regards to Voice-Over work.

ShadowKingpin

Hey HR!

I am a total newb with audio tech and could really use your help. I have no idea if this is the right area to post this (It looks like it), but I'll give it a shot. First off, I am trying to go into the next step of Voice-Over work by going from a USB mic (An old Samson CO1U microphone) to my new AT4033 mic (XLR input). Well, I keep reading mixed feelings online about whether to use or not use a mixer. First off, is a mixer vitally important to quality in Voice-Over work? If it's important, what kind of mixer should I look for (Mainly around the $200 range)? Please don't hate me for the newb-ish questions and I can't thank you enough in advance for taking the time to read this and help!

Hi,
A mixer is not essential at all. If you were podcasting or live streaming it might have been useful to have hands-on faders etc, but for straight forward recording you just need a straight forward audio interface.

Do you have firewire? I'm very happy with my presonus firestudio mobile.
If not, there are plenty of USB alternatives.

Not only is a mixer not necessary for quality, at your price point it would be of inferior quality to a similarly priced Audio interface. If you think about it, something like a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 has two mic pre amps and some gain controls. A mixer for the same money tries to have multiple mic inputs, EQ controls, various signal routings and so on. Based on "there's no such thing as a free lunch" some corners have had to be cut to give you all those features.

The most important thing for voice over work is a very quiet and acoustically dead recording environment. Getting rid of computer noise and room echo is essential since your V/O has to fit with anything.