Are the preamps doing the mics justice?

ok... I must have been unclear in my original post.

Let me make it clear... not to toot my own horn or anything, but..

I'm not a beginner at this recording thing.. I've been doing it for a number of years. My room is treated. It's not "professionally" treated, but I have absorption panels and bass traps. I have excellent mic technique.. I always spend the necessary amount of time getting the mics in a good spot. I have great mics that a lot of people are using (421's, e906's, e609's, SM7B, m201's, Beta91's and 52's, 414's and I often borrow K2's, Nt2's and m160's at certain times, and so and so on and so on. I've had experience with a ton of different mics, some of which I own, some I don't.) I record directly to a DAW and mix in the box, although I have plenty of outboard processing from companies like Lexicon and TC Electronics.

All I was asking was a question from one experienced engineer to another experienced engineer. Who thinks I should make the investment in different kinds of preamps.. or who thinks a row of 16 of the same preamps is fine? Who here likes to use different preamps for different colours, and who relies solely on the microphones for that? I know my preamps are above-average... but I could get some different sonic characteristics if I had some different pre's.

I think I may have just answered my own question...

I think I may have just answered my own question...

Then you should edit that post and cut it down a bit :)