parametric eq question

buryher17

i need a parametric eq for my studio, and i only want to spend from like $100-$200

but the only one i can even find that even parametric is the pre sonus 3 band EQ3B. it's $100 flat, and the next cheapest parametric eq i found was $800 on sweetwater.com

for a parametric eq is thta my only option? and is it a good option?? any opinions on this eq

from what i heard pre snous is a noisy brand

PAIA Electronics has a kit you can build for $100. mono, 4 band, all sweepable, and it's noiseless..... I use it on my bass tracks....

soundchaser59 said:
PAIA Electronics has a kit you can build for $100. mono, 4 band, all sweepable, and it's noiseless..... I use it on my bass tracks....

really? thats awesome. i've never done a build it yourself kit before though. is it hard?? like is it worth doing for a kid who hasnt done that before??

i dont wana accidentally cut a wrong wire or w/e and break it....

Look for a used (because that's all there is) DBX 242. Designed by Robert Orban and pretty fully featured. They do sound pretty good. Run about $125 or so on e-bay. I have two and they are emminently usable even though I now have better EQs. Do a search in Gearslutz where Mr. Orban actually discusses the design of the unit and possible mods to improve it.

Are you recording using a computer and recording software? If so, for the money you have in your budget, you will probably get better results with a software EQ plug-in.

On your list it says you are using Pro Tools 7. Doesn't that already come with a parametric EQ bundled in with the software?

I can understand why some people want hardware compressors to lightly compress signals before they hit the D/A converters, but it seems like a hardware EQ, unless it is really high quality (which your budget rules out) is not all that essential. What is your rationale for wanting one? From your list, it looks like there are a lot of other areas I would spend money on before an EQ.