Otari MX 5050 mic preamps

lazerbeans

I'm a recording novice. A friend gave me a well-worn Otari MX 5050 8 track. It is the earlier one with the 4 stereo preamps separate from the recording unit.

Is there a way to use the 4 stereo sections just for the mic pres?
Are they decent?

I don't want to spend the money on the reel-to-reel section for alignment and tweaks and I don't want to maintain it.

The stereo channels sound good when I use another preamp and send that signal into the unit DI to tape. But when I try to simply plug a mic directly into an Otari mic in and send it out to ProTools the signal is really week and has a nasty hum (on any channel I try).

I know the inputs are unbalanced as I have read. I'm plugging the mic into the 1/4" mic in (the only mic input) with an xlr to 1/4" ts cable. And I'm sending the signal out with the only output (xlr-xlr into a DI channel in my Digi 003).

Maybe the 4 stereo units in the Otari are not actually mic pres since a console would typically be used? But why does it have mic ins AND line ins?

Thanks!

I'm a recording novice. A friend gave me a well-worn Otari MX 5050 8 track. It is the earlier one with the 4 stereo preamps separate from the recording unit.

Is there a way to use the 4 stereo sections just for the mic pres?
Are they decent?

I don't want to spend the money on the reel-to-reel section for alignment and tweaks and I don't want to maintain it.

The stereo channels sound good when I use another preamp and send that signal into the unit DI to tape. But when I try to simply plug a mic directly into an Otari mic in and send it out to ProTools the signal is really week and has a nasty hum (on any channel I try).

I know the inputs are unbalanced as I have read. I'm plugging the mic into the 1/4" mic in (the only mic input) with an xlr to 1/4" ts cable. And I'm sending the signal out with the only output (xlr-xlr into a DI channel in my Digi 003).