Negative dB numbers

Jack Hammer

I do not understand negative dB numbers. What does this really mean. Obviously, there is no negative sound, there is some level, sme amplitude, some volume, so that must correlate to positive something. So how come negative measurements are used or should I say negative designtions

I know this may seem like a dumb question but I am new to engineering. Sure, I have played an instrument for years and, yes, I have been in many, many studios but...it seems that it is taken for granted that you know certain things and possibly smoe people are afraid to ask obvious questions becuase they do not want ot sound dumb or inexperienced. God forbid your not the coolest engineer in town! But I want to know what the story is with these negative designations on the threshold contorl of a compressor for instance.

So, what is the story with negative dB threshold amonts.

Well... it's all a relative scale for different references....

If you're talking about digital Full-Scale, then 0db is where digital clipping occurs (which is to be avoided).... of course if 0dbFS is the top, then anything level less than that has to be a negative db value....

It all depends on what meter scale you're looking at, at any one time. For analog meters it can be different again....

The simple explanation is that 0db is the best quality signal. Anything above that is subject to distortion and anything below that is subject to lower signal to noise ratio.

If that didn't make sense figure that with digital, like BB said, 0db is the strongest possible signal. So if 0 is the loudest possible signal than you can only go down from there. I believe an increase of 6db is actually a 2x increase in strength. (I'm probably wrong on that number so please correct me anybody).