My Preamp comparison

MadMax

I'm just a hobbyist who records in spurts. I'll leave it alone for months and then get the fever and come back to it. Usually this gives me GAS and I become obsessed with mics & preamps. I have a drum session coming up this weekend and I bought a couple of MXL604's for overheads. I'm going to use an Audix D6 on the kick and SM-57's on the rest.
I started lusting over preamps and decided to compare the ones that I have.
It's not scientific. I just spoke into a handheld SM-57.
The 3 pre's I used were;

Yamaha O1v96> aux out
Mackie 1202 VLZ> channel insert
ART Studio V3 modelling preamp-voicing set to "flat".> output
From there, I used the line inputs of my M-Audio Delta 1010 LT sound card. My speakers are my trusty old Alesis Monitor 1's.

I don't have golden ears by any means. I played guitar in loud bar bands for years and I was a monitor engineer for a regional sound company.
The bottom line is, I think I could hear very very slight differences between the 3 and even then, I could never qualify the difference in a million years.

So, my conclusions are thusly;
1. I'm deaf.
2. My monitors aren't good enough to reveal the subtleties.
3. There isn't enough difference in the 3 pre's I tested. They're all in the same low end classification.
4. Preamps in general are pretty subtle and spending $$$ on a high end pre for a project studio is a waste of money.

So, for me the pre's that I have are more than adequate. But I'm still dreaming of the Holy Grail magical preamp that will make me go "WOW!".

I know there are those on HR who swear by the ability of pre amps to magically change or fix the sound but I'm not one of them. Pre amp performance differences are generally pretty subtle.