Which interface for me? and please explain outboard effects

Schecterplayer

hello, i am looking into expanding my recording setup. i only have a 2x2 tascam us 200 at the moment but heres my goal:

i want to have a rack mounted interface with a decent amount of inputs under $400

i want to be able to use a couple outboard gear such as preamps and compressors.

i want high quality sound.

ok so thats my criteria, can someone please shed some light on what i might need? i should also add i am mainly a single musician one track at a time. but i do alot of mixing for a freind and thats why i want a few outboard effects.

also can some one please explain to me how to set that all up? i dont quite understand how the signal goes from the interface to the effects unit then back in. do i have to manually plug it in to the ins and outs each time? is there a patchbay setup i can use?

Hey man, first off a couple of questions; How many inputs do you need? do you need xlr or line inputs or both? USB or Firewire? What DAW are you using?

Something like the MOTU 828 would offer a lot of scope for what you want to do; 8 and although i have no idea of the $ price, i'd imagine that you could find one on the second hand market for around $400 (that's based on UK £ price converted to US $'s).