I broke My ART MPA! Please Help me!

skiscem

Well, i got a used MPA PRO from another user from this site, the preamp worked perfect, but i wanted to change the tubes...
so i got like 20 tubes and started trying, everything fine until... I gound this tube that looks just like a 12ax7 but a little bit longer, put it in, and sounded very nice for about 30 seconds..
After that, the sound is very distorted and everytime i turn it on, the VU meter goes all the way up, sound comes out but again, very distorted and weak, i tried changing the tubes but no luck, the channel two still works perfect.
The tube on the broken channel still lights up normally.

I have fixed a couple of amps before and i built a tube amp before, but i have no experience with preamps like the ART.

I would really Appreciate is someone can help me troubleshoot it or guide to what to look for or what to replace, I really like the preamp and i cant afford a tech to fix it right now

Thanks

Alex

To Make things Cool, im offering a nice, tube present to the person that direct me to the problem and helps me fix it!

I have to check whenever i get home, but i think there is no number, all the tubes i have a freaking old and most of them dont have anything :mad:

I think your unit has a 7812 regulator with a big ol' heatsink attached. That is likely the component that was destroyed. Check the voltages on that part.

I think your unit has a 7812 regulator with a big ol' heatsink attached. That is likely the component that was destroyed. Check the voltages on that part.

Well there is 2 black heatsinks inside, close to the transformer, what should be the voltage? if the regulator went bad, is it easy to find a replacement?

i know for a fact the tube was wrong, the pin patter is the same but the tube itself is like 3/4" taller, i feel really stupid, but it actually sounded very nice for the 30 second it survived