Difference between a Soft Clipper and a Limiter?

Well I'm no expert in this field and I'm totally in the box, but my understanding is this:-

A normal limiter will square off the top peaks in the audio(hard limiting or brick wall) but a soft clip instead will gently 'round off' the tops using a soft distortion. So the clipping will be more transparent to the mix(less harsh).

With this in mind, you'd think that all limiting should include soft clip but as it doesn't, there must be a downside to soft clipping but I'm not sure what that is.

Mart.

Last edited:
the functional difference is that a limiter is essentially a compressor with an infinite compression ratio...that is, any peak above the threshold gets reduced to the level of threshold. with the clipper, the peaks get shaved off instead of being smashed flat.

I think the difference is that the soft clip device 'rounds off' the edges of the waveform just below the threshold, so the resultant harmonic distortion isn't as harsh as that which occurs with your standard brick wall limiter that causes all signals above thresh to become square waves at the point of limiting.

Can a soft clipper therefore be thought of as a 'soft knee' limiter?

I'm in agreement with Mart - surely all limiters could benefit by having the abrupt 'edge' taken off the square wave at the point of limiting to reduce the harshness of the harmonic distortion.

Though wouldn't this non-linear transfer cause some distortion to occur below threshold? :confused:

Ok, enough taxing my brain for the moment. Back to my day job ;)

Dags

it's all heresy since a "limiter" is an all encomassing term for a compressor with a very high compression ratio.

how it does it's compression is a different topic, and the first term (soft clipper) is one example of how compression can be added, although it's not common in pro audio compressors.