Comfort Reverb when direct Monitoring

Surf's Up

Hi

I was wondering if anyone could help me out.

I've been recording in my free time for a few years now but only recently started recording other people.

I direct monitor when recording and would like to put a splash of comfort reverb on the vocal as it comes out of the card.Just for the vocalist.

I have a delta 1010 and my monitoring signal chain is 1010 into Behringer Ultra Patch to Behringer Powerplay Pro XL and then onto studio amplifier and monitors.

The directly monitored vocal will come out as either just left or just right depending on the input I use, but the powerplay has a handy 2 channel switch so the vocalist can hear in dual mono.This allows me to patch hardware effects on just the vocal not the rest.

I'd like to patch a hardware reverb unit into the signal chain between patchbay and headphone amp.

The only hardware reverb I have is a EHX Holy Grail but this adds hideous distortion and noise to the signal chain, I'm thinking this is due to the difference between line and instrument level.

Does anyone have a solution for getting the line level back down to instrument level (and then back up again) or any suggestions for a nice Hardware reverb unit I could use for this function?

PS

Right now I'd only use the hardware reverb for this function, I use UAD-1 Card and Waves plugins for Reverb once in the Box.But if it sounded great then I'd use it all the time.

Surf's Up

I think you need to make a choice, whether to get an inexpensive reverb to use just as a monitoring reverb, or spend more money on a reverb you could use for real in your mixes as well. If you are getting one just for monitoring, then something inexpensive like the Alesis Nanoverb or a used Alesis Wedge would be a good choice. If you want something better, then prices start at about $200 for the low range of hardware reverbs.