Best Preamp under $200

Oldie

I need another preamp for my VS studio. With 2 kids in college I've got to keep cost down so..... What's the best preamp I can get under $200? What about DBX 286? Is the Behringer stuff any good? Any other suggestions?
Thanks in advance for any help.

Two cents

Behringer preamps are sometimes relatively OK, and sometimes really, really crappy. OTOH, you can get as may as four of them for $100 with a mixer attached. :)

The ART tewb stuff is a step up in some ways from Behringer, and make pretty decent bass DIs, but some people really dislike their sound. I dig mine, but mind you I'm an inexperienced amateur. :cool:

People seem to like the M-Audio stuff, and some have been raving about the Studio Projects preamp (the VTB somethingorother). If I had $200 to blow on a preamp, sound-unheard, I'd get the VTB.

Depending on what you need, that SP VTB1, is the best clean/tube pre for the money but it is only 1 channel.

If you want the 4 channels of preamp, 2 audiobuddys will work, or a mixer.

1 channel pre get the VTB 1
2 channel pre that can also be used as a DI get the M Audio DMP3
I have the DMP 3 and I've plugged mic's, Bass, Acoustic w/ a pick-up, and keyboards into it with good results.
Both units are just under $200

I'vd gotten some pretty good, clean guitar, keyboard and bass sound from a Presonus Blue Tube. $150.00. It's a fairly quiet box. A little too dark for my taste when used as a vocal mic preamp but in some instances that may be a good thing. Not bad for a cheap, two channel amp. Looks lovely next to Blue Max too.