Which Audio Interface should I go for under $120

nikhil

Hello Guys,

I am a beginner and looking to set up a small budget recording studio at home. I was looking for the audio interfaces online and was confused. Could you guys please help me to suggest the best audio interface that must cost under $120 (Rs. 8000) in India?

My requirement:
a. Should connect my XLR mic - Audio Technica ATR2100
b. Should connect my Guitar at the same time
c. Must have Phantom Power
d. Should connect to my Windows desktop computer

3 Products that I looked at liked were
1. M-Audio M-Track II - M-Audio M-Track II USB Audio Interface: Amazon.in: Musical Instruments
2. M-Audio Se-M Audio M Track II - https://www.snapdeal.com/product/ma...20485&ef_id=V8lhGQAAAETP9B0Y:20161002071539:s
3. Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 USB Audio Interface: Amazon.in: Musical Instruments

My queries are:
i. What is difference between 1 and 2?
ii. Does all of them have same quality? I am asking because 3 is out of my budget. Should I stretch by budget for it?
iii. Are there any better or equivalent options?

Please suggest.

Not in that list is the Alesis i02 Express. I have had one and Bobbsy Top Bloke in this forum uses one all the time!
It is identical to an M-Audio model but I think M-A have dropped their version.

I have always thought the Focusrites were poor value for money and (unforgivably for me, a tech' they bolloxed the HZ input headroom on an earlier model 2i2. They have a 3rd generation range out now but might be well over budget) Also no MIDI or digital I/O (I02 has both!).

Also not on list are the new Tascams, the 2x2 looks good but SO new you might not have them there yet?
Steinberg UR22 has been a "sleeper". Must have sold 1,000s but we hear nothing about them and in the audio electronics world, NO news is generally very GOOD news. (got a good rep in Sound on Sound) .

Dave.