Seeking Help Please, Am i on the right path?!

luke89

Hello everybody I came here to talk to someone, anyone who can just take a look at what im doing and help guide me or feed me some tips. Unfortuantly i dont know anybody in my town who knows as much about recording as i do so i buy everything based on user reviews. I have a decent idea of wat im doing but who knwos maybe im goign about this wrong and wasting money, any help is greatly appreciated! Please take a look at my semi rack set up and tell me what im missing.

First of all i record using my computer and cooledit pro running everything into an M-Audio Mobile Pre (100$ version, 2 channels). I run my microphone, a decent 75$ condenser mic. into a Pre Sonus Blue Bube pre amp (200$) which i put a custom tube into. I then run that through a BBE Sonic Maximizer (the 362) and into my M-Audio and wallah! im recording shit.

Ive been recording for 4 years and have tried directly recoridng with Line 6 Pods and the like but IM DONE with that, i wanna mic record.

Alright so im looking to maximize my sound and get that full guitar sound for metal, soft music, and whatever. Im still not there yet. Im looking into buying an RNC Compressor to take down some of the noise coming out of the pre amp, which i just heard about on this site (the 175$ ) one. I also will be recoridng drums bass and vocals so i know that will help. So far what do you guys think i need to do to maximize my sound, how about a new condenser mic, maybe somehting in the 200$ range. BUT HOW do i get my recordings to be better. What else should i add to this semi rack i have? Also, is the Mobile Pre limiting my recording capabilities.

I buy equipment when i get my paychecks and i want to save for something neccessary that will give me wat i need. Also, what else can help my guitar tone.